Montana auto insurance laws have been put in place to protect the safety of all road users in the state. The authorities consider auto insurance enforcement very seriously; so much so that being caught driving without proper insurance in Montana is considered a misdemeanor offense. You want to be sure that you have full coverage and continually carry proof at any time you operate your vehicle.
In Montana, drivers are required to provide proof of insurance at the scene of an accident or any time they are stopped by law enforcement officers. Montana auto insurance requirements stipulate that failure to provide proper proof can result in a fine and/or jail time as well as accumulation of points against your driver’s license.
Montana insurance laws mandate minimum coverage for all vehicles except motorcycles. Minimum coverage includes $25,000 for injury to one person, $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person and at least $10,000 for property damage. While this is the minimum required, it is recommended that drivers carry more coverage as Montana is a tort state, meaning someone must be found at fault in every accident and that person is then responsible for all expenses related to the accident.
The only vehicles exempt from insurance requirements in Montana are motorcycles, off-highway vehicles and non-registered non operational vehicles. Any other vehicle that takes to the road in the state must be properly covered. This is to help mitigate expenses and encourage safe driving on all of Montana’s roadways.
According to Montana auto insurance requirements, failure to provide proof of insurance to a law enforcement official can result in a range of penalties. A first time offense can carry a fine of $250-$500 or up to ten days in a county jail. A second offense carries a fine of at least $350 and/or up to ten days in jail as well as an automatic 90-day suspension of your license.
Every time you are found to be driving without proof of insurance you will have five points attached to your driver’s license. After 30 points are accumulated, your license can be revoked. Unlike some states, Montana does not differentiate between first and subsequent offenses of this kind when it comes to accumulating points against your license.
Because Montana auto insurance laws are comprehensively enforced, it really does not pay to drive without insurance in the state. Not only can you face penalties, if found at fault for an accident you can be held liable for all costs, including medical and auto repair, for all other parties in the accident. This can quickly add up so you don’t want to leave yourself on the line for what could potentially be a very large amount of money.
Safety is foremost in the state of Montana. Don’t take your safety and that of your fellow drivers for granted; make sure you have the proper coverage and carry proof with you at all times. Everyone will be able to breathe easier when you follow the law in Montana.