State Financial Liability Limits


Every state has financial liability laws. These laws establish the minimum amount of auto liability insurance coverage that must be carried. Here are the current liability limits for each state.

State Bodily Injury/ Person Bodily Injury/ Accident Property Damage




Alabama $25,000 $50,000 $25,000
Alaska 50,000 100,000 25,000
Arizona 15,000 30,000 10,000
Arkansas 25,000 50,000 25,000
California 15,000 30,000 5,000
Colorado 25,000 50,000 15,000
Connecticut 20,000 40,000 10,000
Delaware 15,000 30,000 10,000
Dist. of Col. 25,000 50,000 10,000
Florida 10,000 20,000 10,000
Georgia 25,000 50,000 25,000
Hawaii 20,000 40,000 10,000
Idaho 25,000 50,000 15,000
Illinois 20,000 40,000 15,000
Indiana 25,000 50,000 10,000
Iowa 20,000 40,000 15,000
Kansas 25,000 50,000 10,000
Kentucky 25,000 50,000 10,000
Louisiana 10,000 20,000 10,000
Maine 50,000 100,000 25,000
Maryland 20,000 40,000 15,000
Massachusetts 20,000 40,000 5,000
Michigan 20,000 40,000 10,000
Minnesota 30,000 60,000 10,000
Mississippi 25,000 50,000 25,000
Missouri 25,000 50,000 10,000
Montana 25,000 50,000 10,000
Nebraska 25,000 50,000 25,000
Nevada 15,000 30,000 10,000
New Hamp. 25,000 50,000 25,000
New Jersey 15,000 30,000 5,000
New Mexico 25,000 50,000 10,000
New York 25,000 250,000 10,000
North Carolina 30,000 60,000 25,000
North Dakota 25,000 50,000 25,000
Ohio 12,500 25,000 7,500
Oklahoma 25,000 50,000 25,000
Oregon 25,000 50,000 10,000
Pennsylvania 15,000 30,000 5,000
Rhode Island 25,000 50,000 25,000
South Carolina 25,000 50,000 25,000
South Dakota 25,000 50,000 25,000
Tennessee 25,000 50,000 10,000
Texas 25,000 50,000 25,000
Utah 25,000 65,000 15,000
Vermont 25,000 50,000 10,000
Virginia 25,000 50,000 20,000
Washington 25,000 50,000 10,000
West Virginia 20,000 40,000 10,000
Wisconsin 25,000 50,000 10,000
Wyoming 25,000 50,000 20,000
Be Sociable, Share!
car and auto insurance quote